comment 0

Crumbs: Recipes + A Few of Our Favorite Things

If you follow me on any social media outlets, you’re probably aware that I post pictures of food… a lot. Not really sorry about that.. I like food, I like taking pictures- so it just seems to happen. It also doesn’t help that C and I try out new recipes almost every week. So here are a few of our favorite things (in brown paper packages, tied up with string) and some new recipes that we will most definitely be making again.. and again.

Forbidden Rice Bowl: This rainbow-esque, beautiful bowl is jam packed with goodness. The recipe is actually from The Glowing Fridge (who is amazing, by the way- so many great recipes!), and we tweaked it a bit. We ate it twice already, and have it packed for our road-trip tomorrow…. it’s THAT good.

Rosemary + Coconut Coffee: I don’t know about you but I LOVE coffee. I don’t like how sugary creamers can be. Honestly, I would rather have my coffee light and crisp.. not heavy and creamy. I also have a strange obsession with earthy flavors, so I tend to use herbs with everything. I added a sprig of rosemary and a splash of organic coconut milk to my coffee the other morning- holy delicious. It was so light, so earthy, and so good.

Bowls, Bowls, and More Bowls: If you cant tell, we love bowls. Pasta bowls, Chipotle bowls, salad bowls, etc. The other day for lunch I wanted something quick and easy.. so I opted for, you guessed it, a bowl. Spinach, tuna, cherry tomatoes, quinoa, pepper rings, pepitas, and lemon juice was my combination of choice, and it was actually pretty good. So I would definitely say its safe to say that any recipe in a bowl like form- we’re game.

Turmeric + Cilantro Salmon: This was a recipe that C and I tried for dinner tonight and we LOVED it. Not only does turmeric have amazing health benefits, but it gives so much flavor when used. We mixed 1 tsp turmeric + 1 tsp black pepper + 1/2 tsp pink Himalayan salt + a handful of fresh cilantro + half a lemon, squeezed. Mix it up, let the salmon fillets marinate in it. Add some summer squash and back at 350 for 20-25 minutes, making sure not to overcook the salmon. We paired it with (another one of my favorites) kale chips, and we probably finished it within 5 minutes.

Sweet Potatoes + anything: We love sweet potatoes. Its a staple in out house, and we try never to run out. Typically we sautee them with different veggies and serve them with eggs for breakfast or save them as a side or snack. They’re an easy food prep with a million ways to make them.

Lemon + ACV Water: Lemon water alone has endless health benefits associated with it. Mix that with the benefits of apple cider vinegar and a dash of cayenne pepper? You’ve got super water. Combine 32 ounces of water with 2 tablespoons ACV, 1 half lemon-juiced, and a dash of cayenne pepper over ice. Mix it up, and drink up! Not only is it hydrating, it naturally cleanses your body, thanks to the antibacterial properties of the lemon, it boosts your immunity, and it increases and improves your metabolic and digestive functions. If you don’t believe me, look up the health benefits of these ingredients (from a trusted source) and see for yourself. Its amazing what power there is in food.

What recipes have you been favoriting lately?!

Happy almost Friday!

~A

Leave a Reply

