comment 0

Crumbs: Chicken Tortilla Stew

Chicken Tortilla Stew

  • – 3 boneless, skinless chicken breasts
  • – 1 15oz can black beans
  • – 1 pound frozen corn
  • – 8 corn tortillas, shredded
  • – 1 pound chopped bell peppers
  • – 2 jars salsa or 10 cups homemade salsa
  • – 2 cups chicken broth
  • Homemade Corn Chips
  • – 1 package corn tortillas
  • – Olive oil
  • – Salt
  • – Seasoning to taste

I have to say.. my crockpot is one of my favorite things. It makes the endless list of tasks throughout the week seem a little less intimidating. This recipe.. another one of my favorite things. Combine all the ingredients in the crockpot and cook on high until meat is fully cooked. Once chicken is cooked, shred and mix back into stew. Let stew in crockpot until flavors mix  and voila!

The first time I made this, I used jars of medium salsa.. but I got creative with this time and made my own homemade salsa.. which was a project of its own. It turned out really good though! I’ll share my recipe another day! While I was on the “homemade” kick I cut up some corn tortillas, brushed them with olive oil, seasonings, and salt, baked them at 400 degrees for 20 minutes and had homemade corn chips! They were super thick and crispy- delicious.

I’m diggin’ the soups and stews lately. Super easy and quick to make… and they last a long time! Anyone else have some favorite comfort food recipes?

~A

Leave a Reply

