comment 0

Crumbs: Black Bean Bonanza

Black beans are literally one of my favorite foods… like favorite. Luckily, I have had a pretty hand with luck in the kitchen with a couple of recipes chock full of them.

I have found myself making these two dishes more often than not. For being absolutely delicious and incredibly easy and quick, it’s a no-brainer why.

First, came the Vegetarian Black Bean Chili. No recipe, just a photographic memory of my mother making chili and my own spin based on my likings. The recipe doesn’t really exist.. just a hodge-podge of things. Its changed every time I have made it. but here’s an attempt at writing it down.

g

1-2 (150z) cans of black beans
1 (15 0z) can red beans
1 (15oz) can of diced tomatoes
1/4- 1/2 of onion chopped
2-3 fresh jalapeno or 1/4 cup sweet jalapenos (in the jar)- chopped
1 tbsp minced garlic
To your taste- cilantro, salt, and pepper
Depending on your liking you can add corn, chickpeas, etc. The more veggies the better!

Mix all the ingredients in a large pot on low heat, constantly stirring. Let sit medium/high heat, occasionally stirring until to liking. Let simmer on low heat until serving. See? Super easy. Obviousssssly I really like sour cream (or substitute plain greek yogurt) and cheese…. but even without it- its fantastic!

Now to make things even easier, I found this recipe for Black Bean Soup and again made it my own. I used the general few ingredients it called for, but added some of my own things.

r

2 cans black beans (rinsed/ drained)
1 (sm) jar of salsa
1/2 cup vegetable broth
Veggies to liking- I did 1 can corn, 1 can red beans (rinsed/ drained)

Ready for the kicker? Mix all the ingredients in food processor, blend and heat on the stove. Top with sour cream or plain greek yogurt and chives- voila! Now a blender works just as well. I like my soups chunky so I hit the chop button on my blender maybe three times so it was blended but still had some chunk to it. Again, SO EASY.

Overall- pretty easy, nothing too special- but definitely beneficial for those with the busy bee-on the go lifestyle.

~A

Leave a Reply

