comment 0

Push Through

It’s amazing the motivation and positive outlook children have. Especially in comparison to young adults. Today, I ran a 5k. I ran. I honestly didn’t think I would run, especially just getting over being sick. As I started walking though, I new I needed to push myself. I didn’t want to settle for just walking. So.. i ran. Now when I was running there was a moment where I didn’t think I could do anymore. I wanted to stop. I wanted to walk or sit or sleep or something. Just no more running. As I tried to push though as much as I could, a little girl, no older than 4, came up next to me and said, “Good job! You can do this! I believe in you! You can do anything!”

Maybe its just because I am an overly emotional human being, but how awesome. Granted her mother said she was telling everyone that, but how awesome. So young, yet so full of positive outlooks and motivation. I guess it hit home, and pertained to a lot more than just finishing a race. With how busy and hectic my schedule has been lately, I find myself more often than not thinking to myself, I cant do this anymore. I’m wrong to say that. Its just like running a race. Yes, there is a lot going on in life. Life, as kind as it is, tends to hand you heaping platefuls of any and everything you can imagine… when you least expect it. Those are the moments you just want to give up… but don’t. Push through. Just like in a race when you start to lose your breath. Push through. In the end, not only do you finish what you started, but you feel great inside and out.

~A

Leave a Reply

