comment 0

See Ya Later Alligator

For years my job consisted of finger painting, story time, singing songs, and kissing boo-boos. Today that job is over. Sure there were days when my kids we so unbelievably out of their minds that I thought to myself, I’m out, I quit, I’m done! But I never meant it. I never actually thought I could see myself leaving the daycare until my big girl job came. Ya know, the one you earn that degree for during that thing called college? Yeah, that one. I figured id stay until that day came. But life works in mysterious ways, and I was offered an opportunity that I couldn’t pass up. I knew that it would be hard, but I guess I didn’t truly understand how hard it would be to leave those kids and staff until today. I was lucky enough to start as the Assistant PreK teacher to an awesome Lead, and eventually I became the Lead Toddler 2 Teacher with my very own classroom. All the while helping in other classrooms meeting a plethora of wonderful people and children.  Over the past two years I have grown and learned so much from working there alongside all of them. Not only did we have an amazing group of staff, but I came to develop relationships and friendships with them that I know wont soon end. I am so blessed to have met the people I did, and to now be able to call many of them my friends.

Then there are the kids… the adorable, sweet, sometimes rotten, kids. I doubt most people understand, but I love those kids as if they were my own. I sometimes found myself talking about them and one of the funny things they did at dinner with friends or family. They’d look at me like I was nuts. Thinking, Ashley… what is wrong with you? I could never help it. I love each and every one of them from the absolute bottom of my heart.. no matter how many legos they threw at my head or how many times they wiped all sorts of ickyness all over me. I still always loved them. It was especially hard leaving them. It was really hard telling them goodbye knowing that I wasn’t coming back.. when they’ve been so used to me saying goodbye and seeing me the next morning. I genuinely hope that I was able to make an impact on at least one of them. I know they all have such bright and beautiful futures, they are sure to go far.

So this is farewell. I will miss each and every person, child and staff, that I was so lucky and am so grateful to have met. I wish all of them the greatest success. I may not be there every day… but each of them, still hold a piece of my heart.

~A

Leave a Reply

